Close this search box.

The BTB and BHA Award Scholarships To Ten Outstanding Belizean Students

Ten outstanding Belizean   students   received scholarship awards from the Belize Tourism Board (BTB) and the Belize Hotel Association (BHA) on Wednesday, August 14, 2019, during a joint award ceremony held at the Biltmore Plaza Hotel.

This year’s BTB scholarship recipients include Glenroy Godwin Fermin and Roney Adali Espinosa, who will pursue their Bachelor’s Degrees at the University of Belize and Hugh Rodney Hulse who will pursue a Culinary Degree at Stratford University in the United States.

This year’s Jean Shaw Scholarship award went to Jennifer Araceli Padilla, who will pursue a Bachelor’s Degree at the University of Belize. The Jean Shaw Tourism Scholarship was established in memory of the late Jean Ursilla Shaw, a renowned tourism pioneer who played an integral part in the development of Belize’s tourism industry in her lifetime. The Scholarship was established by the BTB to support the development of qualified Belizean females pursuing a career in tourism. This scholarship covers tuition, books, and fees.

In congratulating the scholarship recipients, Hon. Manuel Heredia, Minister of Tourism and Civil Aviation said, “Belize is one of the most beautiful countries in the world, but we have to compete with many countries in order to promote and market our tourism product.  Today, I urge you to take advantage of this wonderful educational opportunity. Prepare yourself. Work hard and you will succeed. Continue to place the name of Belize upfront. Make our country proud.”

The  BTB  Scholarship  Program,  aims  to provide  financial  assistance to students  interested  in pursuing studies in the areas of tourism and hospitality. As part of the program, the BTB selects individuals who demonstrate high levels of academic achievement and leadership and who express a  strong  interest  in  making  a  positive  contribution  to  Belize’s  tourism  industry. Since  its establishment  in 2005,  over  90young  Belizeans  have  benefitted  from  the  program. This morning’s three  BTB’s scholarship awards  are  valued  at  $33,700.00  and  are  for  two  years respectively.

During  the  ceremony, BHA  Board    Director,  Roanne  Badillo,also  presented  scholarships  to 6 deserving Belizean students, who will pursue their high school diplomas as follows: These include:
Jocellyn Martinez -Valley of Peace SDA Academy, Cayo District
Selene Almendarez -Independence High School –Independence Village  
Maria Tillett -Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Cayo District        
Blythe Thompson -St. Catherine Academy, Belize City.
Kianna Dawson –Eden SDA High School, Cayo district

In addition, Kyarah Williams will pursue her Associate’s Degree in Psychology at the University of Belize.

The BHA established its scholarship fund in 2011 with the purpose to provide educational funding for the children of employees working with the BHA member hotels/businesses that are unable to meet the financial obligations for their children’s education. The  scholarship  awards  represent  both  BTB’s  and  BHA’s  unwavering  commitment  to  the sustainable  development  of  our  dynamic  tourism  industry  while  at  the  same  time  fostering educational opportunities for young Belizeans.

The BTB and BHA Award Scholarships To Ten Outstanding Belizean Students

The BTB and BHA Award Scholarships To Ten Outstanding Belizean Students

Click Here for More Ambergris Today News Online

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *